Louisiana ACEP is the local chapter of national ACEP, the American College of Emergency Physicians. Founded in 1972, the chapter actively represents more than 340 emergency physicians, residents and medical students in Louisiana. Our current challenges and priorities include public awareness for ACEP, and emergency medicine, membership recruitment and retention and legislative advocacy.

We are actively involved in a wide range of issues that matter to emergency medicine and our patients, including EMS, public health and safety, and disaster preparedness and response. LaACEP members are represented on several external committees and gubernatorial appointments, such as the Louisiana Emergency Response network (LERN), EMS for Children Advisory Council, EMS Certification Commission, and the DHH Statewide Coalition for Heart Disease and Stroke.

LaACEP is part of the statewide initiative to develop Stroke Centers of Excellence at our local hospitals, and we are represented on the state initiative to develop Pediatric Emergency Centers of Excellence designations for hospitals and EMS. We are actively involved in state EMS Week activities and the Annual EMS Memorial Service.

President: Mark Rice, MD, FACEP
President-Elect: Jon Michael Cuba, MD, FACEP
Secretary/Treasurer: Roland Waguespack, MD, FACEP
Past President: Laura Parnell, MD, FACEP

Board of Directors
Shannon Alwood, MD, FACEP
Charles Burnell, MD, FACEP
David Coffin, MD, FACEP
Jeffrey Elder, MD, FACEP
Phillip LeBas, MD, FACEP
Tracy LeGros, MD, PhD, UHM, FACEP
Charles Muntan, MD, FACEP
Michael Smith, MD, MBA, CPE, FACEP
Keith Van Meter, MD, FACEP

James Aiken, MD, MHA, FACEP
Jon Michael Cuba, MD, FACEP
Phillip LeBas, MD, FACEP
Randy Pilgrim, MD, FACEP

Alternate Councillors
David Coffin, MD, FACEP
Owen Grossman, MD
Richard McConnell, MD, FACEP
Mark Rice, MD